Restaurant Neighbor Awards

Restaurants demonstrate an unwavering commitment to their communities in good times and bad. Perhaps no other industry has deeper community roots. In large and small communities, people turn to restaurants each day for sustenance, support and socialization – and restaurants give back to their communities, improving the quality of life for all they serve.

With nine in 10 restaurants involved in community service, the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation works to raise awareness of the many philanthropic efforts taking place in the restaurant industry across America. 
Each year, a small business, a mid-size restaurant company and a large/national chain each receive $10,000 to support a favorite charity or community project, and winners receive an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. to receive their award during a gala awards dinner.

2017 Restaurant Neighbor Award Recipients

The 2017 recipients of the Restaurant Neighbor awards have made a tremendous impact on their local communities.

The Red Barn Restaurant

Augusta, Maine

The Red Barn Restaurant is the centerpiece of giving in Augusta, Maine.  The restaurant puts community first through donations to veterans, local schools, statewide food banks and animal welfare organizations.

Watch their story


Gecko's Grill & Pub

Sarasota, Florida

For 25 years, Gecko’s Grill & Pub has made philanthropy a key ingredient in its company culture.  In the process, Gecko’s has become a pillar of the Sarasota community through its support of the 4-H Foundation, local law enforcement, military and combat veteran groups and youth services.

Watch their story


International Dairy Queen

Since 1984, International Dairy Queen has raised more than $120 million for Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals. This year alone, franchisee donations from Dairy Queen’s Miracle Treat Day totaled approximately $4 million and  directly benefited 170 hospitals throughout North America.

Watch their story

Read About 2017 State Winners
Read About Past Winners