ProStart Educator Excellence Awards 2020-21

Honoring State Educators Of The Year

2020-21 ProStart Educator of Excellence Award Virtual Celebration

With support of longtime Foundation partner Golden Corral, this virtual event celebrates the spirit of the James H. Maynard Teacher of the Year Award by recognizing all ProStart Educators for their unwavering support of ProStart this past year. Hear stories from current students and alumni, NRAEF leadership, and ProStart industry supporters. We’ll show our appreciation for educators by awarding incredible prizes, including gift cards to help them build out their ProStart classrooms.

The NRAEF ProStart National Educator of Excellence Awards (EEA) recognize educators who demonstrate excellence in the classroom and passion, commitment and creativity in all aspects of the ProStart program to help their students make the most of the opportunities that ProStart offers. Their stories inspire ProStart educators and supporters across the globe.

2020 Award Winners

EEA Classroom Expertise Award

Winner: David Groenewold, River Valley Technical Center, Vermont

EEA Best Practice & Knowledge Sharing Award

Winner: Elissa Oliver, Riverwood International Charter School, Georgia

EEA Industry Connections Award Winner:

Nick Brandler, San Dimas High School, California

EEA James H. Maynard Teacher Of The Year Award

Winner: Ann Taylor, Coronado High School, Nevada

​With support from Golden Corral, a proud sponsor of the EEA Awards, the NRAEF announced the recipient of the James H. Maynard Teacher of the Year Award at EEA. Established over a decade ago as a tribute to Golden Corral’s founder, James Maynard, the award honors one EEA winner for their tireless dedication to providing remarkable experiences to their ProStart students. The annual honoree receives a gift of $10,000.

Each participating state restaurant association nominates its leading educator who has demonstrated a strong commitment to his or her students and to the ProStart Program. 

The 2020 ProStart Educators of Excellence State Awardees are:

Brian Yim – Dimond High School

Audra Weeks – Bentonville Ignite

Nick Brandler – San Dimas High School

Hope Nazzaro – St. Vrain Career Development Center
Yvonne Justice – St. Vrain Career Development Center

Joshua Ogrodowski – Enfield High School

Ricki Senn – Caesar Rodney High School

Carl Stanton – Marathon High School

Elissa Oliver – Riverwood International Charter School

LaRae Arment – Alburnett High School

Matt Barker – Technology Center of DuPage

Brad Luzadder –Heartland Career Center

Jack Low – Eudora/Desoto Technical Education Center & High School

Elizabeth Crump – Jessamine Career and Technology Center

Wanda Lemoine – Red River High School

Samantha Clarke –Old Colony Regional Vocational Technical High School

Clint Frenette – Sanilac Career Center

Marissa Getty –Rogers High School

Nora Hill – Park Hill School District

North Carolina
Ashley Whitesides – Cary High School

Joan Hines – Lincoln Southwest High School

New Hampshire
Victoria Garay – Richard W. Creteau Regional Technology Center

New Jersey
John Pollock – Trenton Central High School

New Mexico
Veronica Hunnicutt Garcia – Chaparral High School

Ann Taylor – Coronado High School

New York
Andrew Ottati – Questar III: Rensselaer Educational Center

Debra Bates – Lancaster High School

Danny Morrison – Northeast Technology Center

Macy Hagensee – Crook County High School

John Picarello – Monroe Career & Technical Institute
Samantha Armstrong – Monroe Career & Technical Institute

Rhode Island
Marie-Claire McKillip – East Providence Career and Technical Center

South Carolina
Holly A. Bell – Enoree Career & Technical Center

South Dakota
Megan Jaquet – Brookings High School

Becky Salter – John Marshall High School

Diane Cluff – Provo High School

Tara Roberts – Massanutten Technical Center

David A. Groenewold – River Valley Technical Center

Tara Bradford – Middleton High School

West Virginia
Stephen Martin – Cabell Midland High School

* These educators are co-teachers at their schools and are nominated together

Get in Touch

Interested in getting involved with the Apprenticeship program?